Why Does it Matter?

Recently, I was showing a few of my friends my blog and they asked me why I made one. They are devout Christians, and likely took offense to me showing them. I wasn’t sure why, but then I thought about it and came to a conclusion. The took offense to me showing them because although some sort of God may not exist, they are not comfortable with that conclusion. Why is this the case? Why does it matter whether or not God exists? Would your life be any different if the case were any different?

Perhaps there is some sort of meaning to God’s existence that I do no understand, and I probably never will. But I am way to stubborn to give up that easily so I took the liberty of researching this issue for this blog post, and my conclusion remains the same. But I can also understand why to some people God not existing would be absolutely devastating.

One of the main things that I understand is ethics, and the ethical appeal of religion is certainly easier to defend than atheism. I have not been yet convinced that objective moral values exist, and it is pretty much the deciding factor in me believing in some sort of God. People generally don’t like that idea that there is nothing actually wrong with murder, and I admit that is a hard thing to say. But simply because there is nothing actually wrong with it doesn’t mean that there is something right about it. People often take offense to such a blunt defense of error theory, but that really is just a misunderstanding of the argument as a whole.

What about the other side of the argument? Why does it matter? I myself don’t really think it does. If God does exist, I do not believe he is performing miracles right now. I don’t believe he is intervening in history. I don’t think that this means that we have some sort of purpose to our lives. Simply because I answer no to all of these questions doesn’t mean that it is impossible for someone to answer yes to them. Because they are, quite literally, impossible to prove or disprove. All opinions on them are entirely subjective. To some, it does matter. And we have no right to state otherwise.

This entry was posted in Atheism, Ethics, God, Miracle, Theism. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why Does it Matter?

  1. 1minionsopinion says:

    I just dropped a comment elsewhere about the fact that people don’t like to have their long-held beliefs challenged in any way. It’s uncomfortable, but it’s also worrying – in case there really could be enough proof available to clearly demonstrate that an idea which has been a large part of one’s life for years may actually be flawed enough to discard completely.

    I start to suspect that those who get upset over atheists and the questions atheists ask are the ones most likely to be wavering in their commitment to their ideas about a god. If they really did believe all they say they do, nothing an atheist could say on the matter would have any lasting impact. They’d be able to brush us off as annoying mosquitoes and go about their lives as if we’re inconsequential.

  2. taco says:

    Atheists have no ground for intelligibility of this world, ethics is only one area that is easily shown. Atheists cannot even justify their use of induction without being irrational. (re: David Hume and the problem of induction)

    • Sorry, but I’m not going to tolerate blatant advertising. But as far as your comment goes I’ll have to disagree. Most naturalists are realists.

    • Nocterro says:

      lol @ presup.

      The problem with a TAG argument is this:

      Let’s say one accepted your idea that “Atheists have no ground for intelligibility of this world”. What then? Deism? You would say no. Islam? No. Buddhism? No. Hinduism? No. What you REALLY want to say is that only CHRISTIANITY has a “ground for intelligibility”. But why think this? I’ve never even seen it explained exactly HOW Christianity does so. Here’s a question to think about:

      Why can Christianity account for X, but Judaism cannot?

Leave a Reply

